Contact Bug. . .

All aspects of contact printing.

Moderator: Black & White Moderators

JB Harlin

Contact Bug. . .

Post by JB Harlin »

I have been doing nothing but contact printing for about the last 8 years. . . ever since I starting using an 8x10 for my main camera. I also do some 11x14 and it looks like I will be dragging the 16x20 out again. Not sure if I remember how to use an enlarger. Anyone else bitten by the Contact Bug?
JB Harlin

Contact Bug. . .

Post by JB Harlin »

RichKlein wrote: Not yet, but I'd like to be! Please do share your knowledge.

Contact printing isn't difficult. . . in fact, it is quite easy. If you print on graded paper all you need is a printing frame or sheet of glass and a bare lamp. Little more complex using VC papers but definitely doable. We use an enlarger for VC papers. I mostly contact print 8x10 and 11x14. My wife contact prints 8x20 and enlarges 4x10.

Rather than go on here, take a look at this BLOG post, though mostly about printing on AZO it shows the setup we use. . .

http://jbhphoto.com/blog/2012/05/15/con ... nting-azo/
nikontim

Contact Bug. . .

Post by nikontim »

looking forward to so 8x10 contact printing, I'll be shooting 8x10 VC paper as my negative material and prints . . . so I'll be watching this JB
JB Harlin

Contact Bug. . .

Post by JB Harlin »

nikontim wrote: looking forward to so 8x10 contact printing, I'll be shooting 8x10 VC paper as my negative material and prints . . . so I'll be watching this JB

Personally I have never made paper negatives, but I have seen some beautiful images that others have done. The paper is very slow, so you will be dealing with very long exposures. Also be sure to follow the Paper Negative area on this site.

Good luck! Hope to see some of your photos!
robert.frase

Contact Bug. . .

Post by robert.frase »